Next Meeting…plus ideas!

March 18, 2008

Monday, March 24, 3:00 at the Future. Chapter 6. I’ll also send a message to Bill again and see if he wants to come.

Is that Easter monday? Is shit open?

As for the next readings: Do we want to read The Other Side of Psychoanalysis? If so, bring a copy on Monday and we can discuss how much we want to read for the following meeting.

And now my ideas: there are 2. First, I want to invite other people in SPT to join. That is, I want to put out a general call over the listserve. Matt, you could do the same over at CommCult if you think there are people who are interested. Yes?

Second, I’ve been reading a bunch of stuff about Lenin and the Russian Revolution, and today started to read about the Autonomia movement in Italy as well. One of the things that struck me about this stuff is that change happens not simply by people seizing power or the state, but by first organizing parallel to the state. In Russia, the soviets rose up a people were self organizing at the same time as the provisional government, and that’s how the Bolsheviks were able to seize power. Now, I know of about 4 other reading groups that are going on right now. If they’re anything like ours, it’s like organizing university classes outside the university. So, I was thinking that it might be cool to send a message across the listserve and propose that people from each group meet once every couple of months to discuss what each group has been doing. It might be cool even have different people present ideas at meetings like these…

It’s a fledgling idea, but if you guys are down I’d like to give it a go and see what happens. Shaking hands with the Deleuze reading group might be an interesting exercise… and seeing what’s happening with the Frankfurt School group would be cool too.

Anyway…

G

Rochdale College

One Response to “Next Meeting…plus ideas!”

  1. dystopier said

    Shit is open on Monday… so I’m down with meeting on Monday for chapter 6.

    I’m also down with doing Other Side next, and I will bring my copy along on Monday…

    As far as the other thing, sounds like you want to set up some kind of independent council of minds… Are we on the way to a fifth international?? LOL. It’s a cool idea… although probably very difficult to organize.
    How would you feel about using technology to organize something of this magnitude?
    Something like the blog is a good start, I think.
    I’m going to be starting a Marx reading group in the fall with some ComCult people… beyond that, I don’t know if my comrades are down. But I will see…
    Some might be interested in doing Lacan.

    Still… I think it is a good idea. Such a visionary, you are.

Leave a Reply

