Fall 2008 Reading Group

September 2, 2008

I would have to do later or earlier than 3 on a Thursday.
Depending on location, I’d have to end by 3:15 or start 4:30 or later.

Best,
T

17 Responses to “Fall 2008 Reading Group”

  1. dystopier said

    I’d prefer 4:30.

  2. battleofthegiants said

    4:30 works for me.

    Any suggestions for a location?

  3. sonnyburnett said

    4:30 Thursday are cool w/ me.
    (Fridays a bit earlier – 3:00? – would be better)

    Change of location is good – ‘Future’ I found a bit noisy, crowded.

    Anyone know of somewhere on/near the U of T campus?

  4. dystopier said

    So should I assume that we are starting next week?

    still thinking of a location… will get back to ya’ll

  5. sonnyburnett said

    I’m assuming next Thursday somewhere, w/ 1st reading the Preface of For They Know Not.

    Then Tarrying,then Ticklish.

  6. battleofthegiants said

    Maybe we could try “Rowers Roust” on Harbord just west of Spadina? It’s a small pub that will most likely be quiet…

    And I assume we’re reading the rest of Know Not after the preface… yes?

    G

  7. dystopier said

    Rowers sounds good…

    We are absolutely reading all of For They Know Not…

  8. battleofthegiants said

    I’ll have to check and see if Rower’s still exists… I can’t find it on the internet… (the name may have changed…)

  9. sonnyburnett said

    I meant all of For They for sure.

    That location sounds cool. Near Atticus Books (awesome selection) & that Psycho book store (‘Caversham’ or something), right?

  10. battleofthegiants said

    I just checked – Rowers is no more. Now it’s an expensive-type place called ‘harbord house’…

    any other suggestions? Maybe in a totally different part of the city?

    G

  11. The Universal Singular said

    How about Manic Coffee, 426 College St. (North side, East of Bathurst)?

    P.S. this is being posted by the blogger formerly known as Dystopier.

  12. sonnyburnett said

    What part of the city you hoping for? Where’s everyone at? I’m in the St Jamestown hood. If I was more centrally located, we could meet at my sorry place.

    Everything is in spitting range by bike for me, s’long as we ain’t talking Mississauga or North York. Though I’d prefer east of Spadina. We could always have a (monthly?) change of scenery if any one place is annoying for someone.

    Holbein’s Ambassadors. Cool.

  13. battleofthegiants said

    I was thinking either the Victory at Markham and Bloor (they have a side-room we might be able to comandeer), Dooney’s and Bloor and Lippencott (A York hangout…but maybe the food’s too expensive) or the Green Beanery at Bathurst and Bloor.

    I think manic is probably a little far south for people…

  14. sonnyburnett said

    Don’t know of any of those places, though the location is fine by me

    (this is all around Bloor/Bathurst, right?)

  15. The Universal Singular said

    I vote for Dooney’s or Victory.

  16. The Thing said

    Dooney’s seems nice to me.
    I associate Victory with getting drunk, so that might not be my best bet for “serious” work, but I’d give it a try.

  17. sonnyburnett said

    Sounds like it’s Dooney’s, Thursday 4:30

    one small block west of where we were before. I think we are creatures of habit.

Leave a Reply

