Next Meeting

January 6, 2009

when are we meeting next?

14 Responses to “Next Meeting”

  1. The Universal Singular said

    I’d like to start Monday, January 19th, 11am-1pm. But if you guys want to start a week earlier, that’s fine with me.

  2. sonnyburnett said

    We’ve been discussing this on email, where you been? US, the Thing & I have agreed to Mondays, 11am to 1pm, starting January 19th.

    The ball is in your & Veiled Phallus’ court. You guys in?

  3. battleofthegiants said

    Sounds good.

    (You bastards – you originally said we’d meet on this Wednesday and I’ve been busting my hump to get the reading done.)

    We should meet sooner to talk about the conference.

    G

  4. veiledphallus said

    Once winter semester starts, I’ll have a conflict with the Monday time. I can do it for the time being though. I’ve been busy with PhD applications so I haven’t touched ‘Ethics’.

  5. The Universal Singular said

    I’m not gonna do the conference. Quite frankly, I don’t think I have anything to contribute.

    Starting the week of January 19th I’m good for any and every time… so I’ll follow suit with whatever is decided.

    • sonnyburnett said

      The conference – I suppose if only Greg & I are innarrested, it’s a no go? Two people does not make a panel I suppose.

      Ok, then. See you all 11am January 19th.

      (I haven’t been reading Ethics either. I read it couple years ago. Lacan’s actual semiars/ecrits I don’t really think is all that conducive to discussion. I’m looking for secondary commentary – anyone have any ideas?)

  6. battleofthegiants said

    2 people might make a panel… I dunno. Maybe I’ll forward the call over SPT and see if anyone else wants to join…

    G

    • sonnyburnett said

      Only problem is, they would be unlikely to take our Z angle, which is the organizing signifer that would make our panel unified. Isn’t the deadline tomorrow?

  7. battleofthegiants said

    We could still use the Z angle – we ain’t the only ones!

    And the Deadline is the 23rd. So maybe we should do some back and forth via e-mail (or we could meet) to talk about what we want to do; i.e. what would we include in our panel statement.

    • sonnyburnett said

      Thing, US, VP bailing took the steam outta me. I think I’ll pass as well. I’m actually also getting busy w/ some (non-academic) stuff lately & it’s been a real struggle to find time/effort for a sustained study of anything.

  8. battleofthegiants said

    Pfft. There is no little other. Self-authorize yourself some time.

    We’ll take on the one-9. (Though, I may not be around. Likely the Forced Rat will some that day…)

    G

    • sonnyburnett said

      I make little to no sense of your last few sentences. What is a ‘one-9’? What does the parenthetical content mean? A ‘Forced Rat?’…

  9. The Universal Singular said

    one-9 = 19, because we are meeting on January 19th;
    forced rat. is ‘forced ratification’, to do with the strike…

    what do I win for interpreting that??

    I’m still confused by the first part… who are you referring to?

    • sonnyburnett said

      Just found my BattleoftheGiants to English dictionary & I can return the favor: the first part is in reference to my own bailing out of the conference (which I was careful – the obsessive neurotic I am – not to have made an explicit committment to in order to keep that future horizon ever so open), but I do take issue with there not being a little other. There certainly is! And further more, he exists!

      There even is such a thing as a big Other (though it doesn’t exist).

Leave a Reply

