Reading Ideas

August 27, 2009

I was wondering if anyone would be up for going back to basics and reading Kant’s Critique of Pure Reason this year.  I think that this is an important text that we should all be up on.  Perhaps we could follow with Hegel’s Phenomenology of Spirit and Science of Logic (an ambitious venture for sure)…  and then, maybe even Heidegger’s Being and Time.  For anyone interested in Lukacs, the latter should definitely be of interest since Heidegger wrote his book as a response to History and Class Consciousness.  Does this sound interesting to anyone else?

6 Responses to “Reading Ideas”

  1. sonnyburnett said

    Seeing as how I’ve done nothing but CPR these last couple months, you have my interest.

    But to tell you the truth, I don’t think it would be very conducive for discussion. Maybe introductory texts ON these books would be better. Of the ones you mentioned, I’d only be able to say a few words on CPR.

    I’m up for any of these classics, but again, y’all make a decision w/o me, since I’m unsure I’ll make it down to Creon’s Castle.

  2. veiledphallus said

    I am interested in reading all those books. Let’s do it!

  3. veiledphallus said

    Can we please start sometime next week? Let’s get this started.

  4. The Universal Singular said

    Well… what’s the plan? Do people really want to read these or not? Everyone seems to want to read something different these days.

  5. battleofthegiants said

    Well… I’ve tried twice to set a date to meet. Someone else’s turn.

  6. The Universal Singular said

    The date is not the issue for me… it’s more an issue of what we’re reading! Or do people want to meet to discuss what to read next?

Leave a Reply

